Other Achievement Awards


Pioneer Award

This award was bestowed to individuals in recognition of their pioneering work improving the care of patients with advanced heart or lung disease.

Past Pioneer Award Recipients:

2017: Stuart Jamieson, MB, FRCS
2016: Sir Roy Calne
2015: Bruno Reichart, MD
2013: Jack G. Copeland, MD
2011: Elizabeth Hammond, MD
2009: Christian Cabrol, MD
2008: Richard E. Lower, MD
2006: Leonard L. Bailey, MD
2002: Michael De Bakey, MD and Bruce Reitz, MD
2000: Christiaan Barnard, MD, Joel D. Cooper, MD, and Norman E. Shumway, MD


Lifetime Service Award

This award was bestowed to ISHLT members in recognition of their dedication and service to the Society.

Past Lifetime Service Award Recipients:

1997: Jacques Losman
1996: Michael Kaye

ISHLT Distinguished Educator Award

2014: James K. Kirklin, MD