Lifetime Achievement Award

ISHLT is actively seeking nominations for the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient. Nominations must be submitted by 5:00 PM US Eastern Time on March 16, 2020.

The ISHLT Lifetime Achievement Award is bestowed annually by the Board of Directors on an individual whose lifetime body of work has either:
  1. made a significant contribution toward improving the care of patients with advanced heart or lung disease OR
  2. engaged in pioneering work that improved the care of patients with advanced heart or lung disease OR
  3. is representative of outstanding dedication and service to the Society
The awardee will most commonly be a current or former ISHLT member, but other meritorious individuals may be considered on a case by case basis as long as clear justification is provided concerning why a non-member should be considered.

This Award incorporates the former Pioneer Award and Lifetime Service Award.

2020 Recipients

We are thrilled to announce that Dr. James K. Kirklin, professor of surgery at the University of Alabama, and the late Dr. Michael Hess, a founder and first president of ISHLT, will each receive the Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award at our 2020 Annual Meeting.

We look forward to sharing an in-depth look at the honorees’ careers and their enormous scientific contributions at our annual meeting, scheduled for April 22 – 25 in Montrèal, Canada.

James K. Kirklin

James K. KirklinDr. Kirklin will be honored for his significant contributions to the fields of adult and pediatric heart transplantation and mechanical circulatory support. Among his many achievements, Dr. Kirklin was the first North American surgeon to bridge an infant to heart transplantation using the Berlin Heart VAD. He also implanted the Berlin Heart device on the youngest patient ever, a 17-day-old baby, allowing the infant to undergo a successful heart transplant 136 days later. He holds the James K. Kirklin Chair of Cardiovascular Surgery at UAB. He previously held the John W. Kirklin Chair in Cardiovascular Surgery, named for his father who was also a pioneer in cardiovascular surgery.

Michael Hess

Michael HessBefore his death earlier this year, Dr. Hess was a heart failure cardiologist at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, VA, where he published more than 200 research papers and three books and was revered as a teacher, earning a dozen outstanding teacher awards. Dr. Hess is credited with founding ISHLT when he convened an international group of cardiologists and cardiac surgeons at the American Heart Association meeting in Miami in November of 1980. Dr Hess was co-program chair of the first ISHLT meeting held in San Francisco. It is fitting that we honor him at our 40th anniversary meeting.

Past Recipients

2019   John Wallwork, FRCS
2018   O. Howard "Bud" Frazier, MD
2016   Drs. Adrian and Jean Kantrowitz
2014   Sir Terence English, KBE, FRCS
2012   Sharon Hunt, MD
2010   Margaret Billingham, MD
2004   Sir Magdi Yacoub, MD
1999   Keith Reemtsa, MD
1996   Norman Shumway, MD, PhD