Councils - Chronic Thromboembolic Pulmonary Hypertension (CTEPH)

Scientific Council on Chronic Thromboembolic Pulmonary Hypertension (CTEPH)


Council membership is open to all ISHLT members. Joining is easy. Simply login to the ISHLT Members Only Website where you can update your membership profile and join any of the 12 Scientific Councils.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018, 7:15-8:15 AM
Room: Athena
Location: Acropolis Congrès Centre, Nice, France
ISHLT 38th Annual Meeting and Scientific Sessions

After much deliberation, the ISHLT Board of Directors has approved the establishment of a separate CTEPH (chronic thromboembolic pulmonary hypertension) Council within the Society. The idea to create a separate Council was born out of complimentary goals from CTEPH expert members and ISHLT leadership to have a reliable international platform to discuss and engage multinational CTEPH experts in important domain projects, and for the ISHLT to engage the world-wide community and increase its membership. Among several other relevant points, some domain experts in the field of CTEPH who know the community best (especially from the surgical and interventional side of the discipline, who do not presently engage in the Society), have felt a strong need to have an independent platform separate from the PH council through which they can congregate and spend adequate time evaluating new therapies and establishing best practices. The ISHLT hopes to provide this international “home” for the CTEPH community. All interested ISHLT members are invite to join the CTEPH Council. The first Chair of the new CTEPH Council, Dr. William Auger from the University of California San Diego, has been appointed by the Board for a 2-year term. Forthcoming officers will be elected by the membership of the Council.

(Parentheses after name indicates year rotating off Board)

William R. Auger, MD (2021)
UCSD Medical Center
San Diego, California, USA

Dr. Auger is currently a Professor of Clinical Medicine at the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine, and the director of UCSD's Chronic Thromboembolic Pulmonary Hypertension (CTEPH) Program. Having devoted 30 years to the management of CTEPH patients, his academic interests focus on the evaluation and treatment of pulmonary hypertension, particularly chronic thromboembolic disease and other large vessel pulmonary vascular disorders.

Marc De Perrot, MD (2023)
Toronto General Hospital
Toronto, CANADA

Bio coming soon...
Jason D. Christie, MD (2018)
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA, USA

Jason D. Christie, M.D., M.S. is the Chief of the Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Division. He is Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine and Professor of Epidemiology in the Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology at the University of Pennsylvania. He is a Senior Scholar in the Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics. His career is focused on translational research studies of the risks, pathogenesis, treatment, and outcomes of acute lung injury (ALI) in the transplant and non-transplant human populations.

Manreet Kanwar, MD (2018)
Allegheny General Hospital
Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Manreet Kanwar, MD, completed her internal medicine residency and fellowship in cardiovascular diseases at St John Hospital and Medical Science in Detroit, MI. She then completed her advanced fellowship in heart failure, pulmonary hypertension and cardiac transplantation at Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh in 2011 and joined the faculty thereafter. Dr. Kanwar was the chair of Junior Faculty Council at ISHLT for the year 2015-2016. Her research interests include risk stratification in advanced heart failure and pulmonary hypertension. She is currently the associate director for the CTEPH program at AGH and an active member of both the PH and CTEPH council at ISHLT.
Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size