Boards & Committees - IMACS Registry

ISHLT MECHANICALLY ASSISTED CIRCULATORY SUPPORT  (IMACS®) REGISTRY COMMITTEE
IMACS logo

The IMACS® Executive Committee will monitor regularly the data from the IMACS® Registry, review and assess the performance of its operations, and make recommendations, as appropriate, to ISHLT and the DCAC with respect to:

  • The performance of individual centers (including possible recommendation on actions to be taken regarding an centers that performs unsatisfactorily).
  • Issues related to participant safety and informed consent including notification of and referral for abnormal findings.
  • Adequacy of study progress in terms of recruitment, quality control, data analysis, and publications.
  • Possible modifications in the study protocol.
  • Overall scientific direction of the registry.
COMMITTEE LEADERSHIP
CHAIR
James K. Kirklin, MD
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
205-934-3368
jkirklin@uab.edu

James Kirklin, MD, is a Professor and Director of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery at the University of Alabama School of Medicine in Birmingham. Dr. Kirklin is a 1973 graduate of Harvard Medical School. He completed his residency at Massachusetts General Hospital and the University of Toronto, and completed two fellowships at Children's Hospital, Boston and the University of Alabama at Birmingham.  He is a past president of the ISHLT and former editor-in-chief of the Journal for Heart and Lung Transplantation. 

Assistant: Lori Higginbotham
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL, USA
lorihigg@uab.edu
ADMINISTRATOR
S. Craig Collum, MPH
University of Alabama
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
205-996-7691
ccollum@uab.edu

Craig Collum, MPH is Program Director of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and Executive Director for the Interagency Registry for Mechanically Assisted Circulatory Support (INTERMACS).  Craig received his BS in Microbiology from the University of Alabama in 1997 and his Masters in Public Health from the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Public Health in 2001. He is the co-founder and Executive Director of the Pediatric Heart Transplant Study Foundation.

Assistant: Devin Koehl
University of Alabama
Birmingham, AL, USA
devink@uab.edu
ADDITIONAL MEMBERS
Nicholas Banner, MD
Harefield Hospital
Harefield, Middlesex, United Kingdom
+44 (0)1895 82 37 37
N.Banner@rbht.nhs.uk

Assistant: Jacqueline Monsammy
jacqueline.monsammy@sickkids.ca
Elizabeth Blume, MD
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, MA, USA
617-355-6329
Betsy.Blume@cardio.chboston.org
Eric A Chen, MS
Director Of Humanitarian Use Device PR
Food and Drug Administration
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
302-796-6327
eric.chen@fda.hhs.gov
Theo De By, BA, MBA
Euromacs
Berlin, GERMANY
theodeby@euromacs.org
Anne I. Dipchand, MD
Hospital for Sick Children
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
416-813-6674
anne.dipchand@sickkids.ca
Jan Gummert, Prof.Dr.Med
Euromacs
Berlin, GERMANY
jgummert@hdz-nrw.de
Margaret M. Hannan, MD
Mater Hospital
Dublin, IRELAND
35-31-803-4013
mhannan@mater.ie
Mehmet Hussein
Hospital de Messejana
Fortaleza, Brazil
Mehmet190501@gmail.com
Anchal Kaushiva (FDA)
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Anchal.Kaushiva@fda.hhs.gov
Richard Kirk, MA FRCP FRCPCH
Freeman Hospital
Newcastle, UNITED KINGDOM
44 (0) 191 213 7499
richard.kirk@nuth.nhs.uk
Robert L. Kormos, MD
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
412-648-6259
kormosrl@upmc.edu
Prof. Pascal Leprince, MD, PhD
Petie Salpetriere
Paris, FRANCE
33 1 42 16 56 81
pascal.leprince@psl.aphp.fr
Lars H. Lund, MD, PhD
Karolinska University Hospital
Stockholm, SWEDEN
46-8-51774975
Lars.Lund@alumni.duke.edu
Mandeep R. Mehra, MD MBBS FACC FACP
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Executive Director, Center for Advanced Heart Disease, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
617-732-8534
mmehra@partners.org

Assistant: Erica Bartmanis
ebartmanis@partners.org
Marissa Miller, DVM, MPH
NIH-NHLBI / DCVS-ATSB
Bethesda, Maryland, USA
301-594-1542
marissa.miller@nih.gov
David C. Naftel, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
205-934-4240
dnaftel@uab.edu

Assistant: John Pennington
kaseman@uab.edu
Takeshi Nakatani, MD, PhD
National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center
Osaka, JAPAN
81-6-6833-5012
tnakatan@hsp.ncvc.go.jp
Francis D. Pagani, MD, PhD
University of Michigan Hospital
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
734-647-2894
fpagani@umich.edu

Assistant: Dawn Shufflin
dshuffli@med.umich.edu
Heather J. Ross, MD, MHSc, FRCP(c)
Toronto General Hospital
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
416-340-3482
heather.ross@uhn.ca

Assistant: Anna-Gail Molera / Dianne Ragell
Anna-Gail.Molera@uhn.ca / Dianne.Ragell@uhn.ca
Stephan Schueler, MD, PhD, FRCS
Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals Trust
Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UNITED KINGDOM
44-7980721546
s.schueler@talktalk.net
Martin Strueber, MD
University Heart Center Leipzig
Leipzig, GERMANY
49-341 865 1319
martin.strueber@med.uni-leipzig.de

Assistant: Nicole Schütz
Nicole.Schuetz@herzzentrum-leipzig.de
Steven SL Tsui, MD, FRCS
Papworth Hospital NHS Trust
Cambridge, UNITED KINGDOM
44-1480-364-297
steven.tsui@papworth.nhs.uk
George M. Wieselthaler, MD
University of California San Francisco
San Francisco, CA, USA
415-353-9028
georg.wieselthaler@ucsfmedctr.org

Assistant: Meagan Parrinello
Meagan.Parrinello@ucsfmedctr.org
 
EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS
Hermann Reichenspurner, MD, PhD
ISHLT President
University Heart Center Hamburg
Hamburg, GERMANY
hcr@uke.de
Amanda Rowe
ISHLT Executive Director
Addison, Texas, 75001
972-490-9495
amanda.rowe@ishlt.org
Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size