Boards & Committees - Grants & Awards

Grants & Awards Committee


QUICK LINKS:

Committee Composition

  • The Grants and Awards Committee shall consist of three Chairs, at least one representing heart and one representing lung and at least one from the US and one from outside the US, appointed by the Board of Directors and serving 3-year staggered terms.
  • Grants and awards reviewers shall be appointed by the Co-Chairs for 1-year terms, renewable up to three times.
  • The number of grants and awards reviewers shall be determined by the Co-Chairs according to their needs and to reflect the geographic and specialty diversity of the Society members.


Committee Responsibilities

  • Oversee and administer the Society’s grant and awards program, including the grant application process, the application review and selection process, and the oversight of grant award follow-up reports.
  • Manage the process of determining each year’s Caves Award Winner and administer any other awards programs assigned to it by the Board of Directors.
COMMITTEE CO-CHAIRS:

Daniel R. Goldstein, MD (2016)
Yale New Haven Hospital
New Haven, CT, USA
203-785-3271
daniel.goldstein@yale.edu
Stephan M. Ensminger, MD, DPhil (2017)
Heart & Diabetes Center NRW
Ruhr-University Bochum
Bad Oeynhausen, GERMANY
05731 / 97 1331
sensminger@hdz-nrw.de
Daniel Kreisel, MD, PhD (2018)
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO, USA
314-362-6021
kreiseld@wudosis.wustl.edu
BOARD OF DIRECTORS LIAISON:

Jeffrey J. Teuteberg, MD
University of Pittsburgh/Presbyterian
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
412-647-7168
teutebergjj@upmc.edu
RESEARCH FELLOWSHIP GRANT and NORMAN E SHUMWAY CAREER DEVELOPMENT AWARD REVIEWERS:



Andrew E. Gelman, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO, USA
gelmana@wudosis.wustl.edu



Mark S. Slaughter, MD
University CT Surgical Associates
Louisville, KY, USA
mscabg@gmail.com



Laurie D. Snyder, MD
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC, USA
laurie.snyder@duke.edu



Dirk Van Raemdonck, MD, PhD
University Hospital Gasthuisberg
Leuven, Belgium
dirk.vanraemdonck@uz.kuleuven.ac.be


INTERNATIONAL TRAVELING SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS:

John Dark, MB, FRCS
Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UNITED KINGDOM
44-191-223-1450
j.h.dark@ncl.ac.uk
NURSING, HEALTH SCIENCES & ALLIED HEALTH RESEARCH GRANT AWARDS:

Lut Berben, PhD, RN
University of Basel
Basel, SWITZERLAND
061-267-0920
lut.berben@unibas.ch

TRANSPLANT REGISTRY EARLY CAREER AWARDS:

Josef Stehlik, MD, MPH
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
801-585-2340
josef.stehlik@hsc.utah.edu
Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size