Boards & Committees - Annual Meeting



ANNUAL MEETING PROGRAM COMMITTEE


2017 ANNUAL MEETING WEBSITE:
www.ishlt.org/meetings/futureMeetings.asp


A) SYMPOSIUM PLANNING COMMITTEE

Committee Composition:

  • The Annual Meeting Symposium Planning Committee shall consist of a Vice-Chair appointed by the President-Elect, subject to approval by the Board, and a Chair who shall rotate into the position after serving as Vice-Chair.  Chair and Vice-Chair terms are one year each.
  • The Immediate Past Scientific Program Committee Chair, the Editor of the Journal, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the President, shall also serve as members of the Program Committee.
  • The Chairs of the Scientific Councils shall nominate up to four individuals to be considered for appointment as members of the Annual Meeting Symposium Planning Committee. Ideally, one nominee from each Council shall be selected by the Chair to serve on the Committee.
  • The Chair shall appoint sufficient additional committee members to reflect the agreed-upon scientific and therapeutic disciplines, with no less than two and no more than four members assigned to each scientific or therapeutic discipline.  Such terms are for one year.
  • Committee members must have served as an abstract reviewer in the past.
  • Council Officers, members of Council Education Workforces, and members of the Education Committee may not serve on the Symposium Planning Committee except for the Chair of the Education Committee.
  • Other than the Past Program Chair, the Program Chair, the Immediate Past Program Chair, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the Editor of the Journal, no member of the Committee may serve more than two years consecutively.  A break of one year minimum is required.
  • The committee members must be approved by the Board in advance.
  • Every effort should be made to include both new and experienced members on the committee and to ensure gender and geographic diversity.
  • If not already an elected Board member, the Chair of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee shall serve as an ex-officio member of the Board and shall also serve as a member of the Education Committee.
Committee Responsibilities:

  • Develop learning objectives for the Annual Meeting that are tied to the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members.
  • Ensure that the Annual Meeting Symposia and other invited content addresses the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members and the established learning objectives.
  • Develop the Annual Meeting  Symposia and other invited content.
  • Evaluate and make changes, as needed, to the format, structure, and content development process of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program.
B) ABSTRACT SELECTION COMMITTEE

Committee Composition:

  • The Annual Meeting Abstract Selection Committee shall consist of the members of the Symposium Planning Committee, plus such additional members appointed by the Chair as are necessary to ensure that there are at least two members assigned to each of the main abstract categories. Such terms are for one year.
  • Council Officers, members of Council Education Taskforces, and members of the Education Committee may not serve on the Abstract Selection Committee., except for the Chair of the Education Committee.
  • Committee members must have served as an abstract reviewer in the past.
  • Other than the Immediate Past Program Chair, the Program Chair, the Program Chair-Elect, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the Editor of the Journal no member of the Committee may serve more than two years consecutively.  A break of one year minimum is required.
  • Every effort should be made to include both new and experienced members on the committee and to ensure gender and geographic diversity.
Committee Responsibilities:

  • Review and select submitted abstracts for presentation at the Annual Meeting.
  • Develop the abstract sessions for presentation at the Annual Meeting.
  • Select finalists and/or recipients for the various ISHLT abstract awards.
  • Ensure that the abstract content of the Annual Meeting addresses the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members and the established learning objectives.
  • Evaluate and make changes, as needed, to the format, structure, and content development process of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program.

2017 PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
(A) Symposium Planning Committee
      SPC Roster (PDF)
(B) Abstract Selection Committee
      (additional members to be appointed in July)


EXECUTIVE TEAM:

2017 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Jeffrey J. Teuteberg, MD (A & B)
University of Pittsburgh/Presbyterian
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
412-647-7168
teutebergjj@upmc.edu
ISHLT PRESIDENT
Maryl R. Johnson, MD (A & B)
HEART

University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI, USA
608-263-0080
mrj@medicine.wisc.edu
2018 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Christian Benden, MD FCCP (A & B)
PEDIATRICS

University Hospital Zurich
Zurich, SWITZERLAND
christian_benden@yahoo.de
ISHLT STAFF LIAISON
Susie Newton (A & B)
ISHLT Headquarters
Addison, TX, USA
972-490-9495
susie.newton@ishlt.org
COMMITTEE MEMBERS (in alphabetical order):

Saima Aslam, MD, MS (A & B)
INFECTIOUS DISEASES

UCSF
San Diego, CA, USA
619-543-6327
saslam@ucsd.edu
Fiorella Calabrese, MD (A & B)
PATHOLOGY

University of Padova
Padova, ITALY
39-049-827-2268
fiorella.calabrese@unipd.it
Sabina M. De Geest, RN, PhD (A & B)
NURSING / ALLIED HEALTH (LIAISON)

University of Basel
Basel, SWITZERLAND
41-61-267-0951
sabina.degeest@unibas.ch
Shashank S. Desai, MD (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT (LIAISON)

Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, VA, USA
703-776-7075
shashank.desai@inova.org
Howard J. Eisen, MD (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE

Drexel University College of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA, USA
heisen@drexelmed.edu
Maryjane Farr, MD (A & B)
HEART (LIAISON)

Columbia University
New York, NY, USA
347-752-0608
maf2171@columbia.edu
Patricia Ging, PharmD (A & B)
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY (LIAISON)

Mater Misericordiae University Hospital
Dublin, IRELAND
353-180-3258
pging@mater.ie
Are Martin Holm, MD, PhD (A & B)
LUNG

Oslo University Hospital
Oslo, NORWAY
479-119-8865
a.m.holm@medisin.uio.no
Jonathan N. Johnson, MD (A & B)
PEDIATRICS (LIAISON)

Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota, USA
507-266-0676
johnson.jonathan@mayo.edu
Theodoros Kofidis, MD, PhD, FRCS (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

National University of Singapore
Singapore, SINGAPORE
65-6772-2065
surtk@nus.edu.sg
Erika D Lease, MD (A & B)
LUNG

University of Washington
Seattle, WA, USA
206-598-1409
edlease@u.washington.edu
Tereza Martinu, MD (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE (LIAISON)

Toronto General Hospital/UHN
Toronto, ON, USA
416-340-3277
tereza.martinu@uhn.ca
Mandeep R. Mehra, MD, MBBS, FACC, FACP (Journal Editor) (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Brigham & Women's Hospital
Boston, MA, USA
617-732-8535
mmehra@partners.org
Sanem Nalbantgil, MD (A & B)
HEART

Ege University Medical Faculty
Izmir, TURKEY
532-445-4554
sanemn@hotmail.com
Desley Neil, FRCPath (A & B)
PATHOLOGY (LIAISON)

Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Birmingham, UNITED KINGDOM
44-121-3713349
dahn@blueyonder.co.uk
Ivan Netuka, MD, PhD (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine
Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
073-782-0800
ivan.netuka@ikem.cz
Francis Pagani, MD, PhD (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
734-647-2894
fpagani@umich.edu


Simon Pecha, MD (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE

University Hospital Hamburg
Hamburg, GERMANY
49-175-168-7526
s.pecha@uke.de
Joanna M. Schaenman, MD, PhD (A & B)
INFECTIOUS DISEASES (LIAISON)

UCLA School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA, USA
310-825-7225
jschaenman@mednet.ucla.edu
Oksana A. Shlobin, MD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, VA, USA
703-776-2256
oksana.shlobin@inova.org
Michael Shullo, PharmD (A & B)
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
412-864-3776
shulloma@upmc.edu
Ryan J. Tedford, MD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION (LIAISON)

Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD, USA
443-465-5601
Ryan.Tedford@jhmi.edu
Marian Urban, MD (A & B)
HEART

Freeman Hospital
Newcastle upon Tyne, UNITED KINGDOM
44-0-747-998-6421
murban@doctors.net.uk
C. Dario Vizza, MD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

University of Rome
Rome, ITALY
39-0649979051
dario.vizza@gmail.com
Robin Vos, MD, PhD (A & B)
LUNG (LIAISON)

University Hospital Gasthuisberg
Leuven, BELGIUM
32-16-34-15-48
robin.vos@uz.kuleuven.be
Christopher H. Wigfield, MD FRCS(C/Th) (Director of Educational Affairs) (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE

The University of Chicago Medicine & Biological Sciences
Chicago, Illinois, USA
773-702-3554
cwigfield@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu
Quincy Young, PhD, RPsych (A & B)
NURSING / ALLIED HEALTH

St. Paul's Hospital
Heart Centre
Vancouver, BC, CANADA
778-968-3477
qyoung@providencehealth.bc.ca


Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size