Boards & Committees - Annual Meeting

ANNUAL MEETING PROGRAM COMMITTEE


COMMITTEE COMPOSITION
  • The Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee shall consist of a Vice-Chair appointed by the President-Elect and a Chair who shall rotate into the position after serving as Vice-Chair. Chair and Vice-Chair terms are one year each.
  • The Chair shall appoint sufficient additional committee members to reflect the disciplines of the abstract categories and to ensure, to the extent possible, representation from among the various geographic and specialty constituencies of the Society. Such terms are for one year.
  • The Immediate Past Chair, the Editor of the Journal, the President, and the Chair of the Development Committee shall also serve as members of the Program Committee.
  • If not already an elected Board member, the Chair of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee shall serve as an ex-officio member of the Board of Directors and shall also serve as a member of the Education Committee.


COMMITTEE RESPONSIBILITIES
  1. Develop learning objectives for the Annual Meeting that are tied to the identified educational needs of the members.
  2. Ensure that the Annual Meeting Scientific Program meets the identified educational needs of the members and the established learning objectives.
  3. Develop the Annual Meeting Scientific Program content, including the selection of abstract presentations and the development and selection of symposia.
  4. Make revisions to the scientific program to ensure it continues to meet the educational needs of the members.
  5. Evaluate and make changes, as needed, to the format, structure, and content development process of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program
COMMITTEE LEADERSHIP:

◆ Symposium Planning Committee
★ Abstract Selection Committee


EXECUTIVE TEAM:

Andreas Zuckermann, MD ◆ ★
2015 PROGRAM CHAIR

Medical University of Vienna
Vienna, AUSTRIA
43-1-40400-5643
andreas.zuckermann@meduniwien.ac.at
Hermann Reichenspurner, MD, PhD ◆ ★
ISHLT PRESIDENT

University Heart Center Hamburg
Hamburg, GERMANY
49-40-74105-2440
hcr@uke.de
Jason D. Christie, MD, MS ◆ ★
2014 PROGRAM CHAIR

University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
215-573-3209
jchristi@mail.med.upenn.edu
Andrew J. Fisher, FRCP, PhD ◆ ★
2016 PROGRAM CHAIR

Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
44-191-233-6161
a.j.fisher@ncl.ac.uk


COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Ruchan Akar, MD ★
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

Ankara University
Ankara, TURKEY
akarruchan@gmail.com
Annalisa Angelini, MD ★
PATHOLOGY

University of Padua
Padua, ITALY
annalisa.angelini@unipd.it
Carla C Baan, PhD ◆ ★
BASIC SCIENCE

Erasmus Medical Center
Rotterdam, THE NETHERLANDS
31-10-703-8293
c.c.baan@erasmusmc.nl
David A. Baran, MD ◆ ★
HEART

Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
Newark, NJ, USA
973-926-7205
dbaran@barnabashealth.org
Tuvia Ben Gal, MD ◆ ★
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Rabin Medical Center
Petah Tikva, ISRAEL
972-522-757-616
bengaltu@gmail.com
Emma J. Birks, MBBS, PhD, BSc, FRCP ◆ ★
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

University of Louisville
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
502-561-2180
emma.birks@louisville.edu
Kevin Carney, MSN, CRNP, CCTC ◆ ★
NURSING ALLIED HEALTH

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
215-200-0260
Kevin.Carney@uphs.upenn.edu
Adam B. Cochrane, PharmD ◆ ★
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY

Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, VA, USA
703-776-7398
adam.cochrane@inova.org
Teresa De Marco, MD, FACC ◆ ★
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

University of California
San Francisco, CA, USA
415-476-3117
demarco@medicine.ucsf.edu
Howard J. Eisen, MD, FAHA, FACC, FACP ◆ ★
BASIC SCIENCE

Drexel University College of Medicine and Hahnemann University Hospital
Philadelphia, PA, USA
215-762-5080
Howard.Eisen@DrexelMed.edu
Stephan M. Ensminger, MD, DPhil ◆ ★
BASIC SCIENCE

Heart & Diabetes Center NRW
Ruhr-University Bochum
Bad Oeynhausen, GERMANY
05731 / 97 1331
sensminger@hdz-nrw.de
Michele Estabrook, MD ◆ ★
INFECTIOUS DISEASES

St. Louis Children's Hospital
St Louis, MO, USA
314-454-6050
estabrook_m@kids.wustl.edu
Peter M Hopkins, FRACP ◆ ★
LUNG

The Prince Charles Hospital
Brisbane, QL, AUSTRALIA
61-7-31394000
Peterwakatipu@hotmail.com
Annemarie Kaan, MCN, RN ◆ ★
NURSING ALLIED HEALTH

St. Paul's Hospital
Vancouver, BC, CANADA
604-806-8976
akaan@providencehealth.bc.ca
Manreet Kanwar, MD ★
JUNIOR FACULTY CASE REPORTS

Allegheny General Hospital
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
mkanwar@wpahs.org
Cassie C. Kennedy, MD ◆ ★
LUNG

Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN, USA
507-284-2447
kennedy.cassie@mayo.edu
Kiran K. Khush, MD ★
HEART

Stanford University
Stanford, CA, USA
650-725-3241
kkhush@cvmed.stanford.edu
Ivan Knezevic, MD ◆ ★
HEART

University Clinical Centre
Ljubljana, SLOVENIA
386-691-676050
ivan.knezevic@kclj.si
Pascal Leprince, MD ★
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

Groupe Hospitalier Pitié Salpétrière
Paris, FRANCE
pascal.leprince@psl.aphp.fr
Haifa Lyster, MSc ◆ ★
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY

Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Trust
Harefield, Middlesex, UNITED KINGDOM
+447850592073
h.lyster@rbht.nhs.uk
Peter MacDonald, MD, PhD ◆ ★
DONOR MANAGEMENT/ORGAN ALLOCATION: HEART

St. Vincent 's Hospital
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
61-2-8382-2641
peter.macdonald@svha.org.au
Claudius Mahr, DO ◆ ★
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

University of Washington
Seattle, WA, USA
206-221-7521
cmahr@uw.edu
Nicolas Manito, MD ◆ ★
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Hospital Bellvitge
Barcelona, SPAIN
34-93-335-7011
nml@bellvitgehospital.cat
Marco Masetti, MD ◆ ★
HEART

Bologna, ITALY
+39-339-746-3947
marcomasetti981@libero.it
Mandeep R. Mehra, MD, MBBS, FACC, FACP (Journal Editor) ◆ ★
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Brigham & Women's Hospital
Boston, MA, USA
617-732-8535
mmehra@partners.org
Bruno M. Meiser, MD ★
PUBLIC POLICY, ECONOMICS, ETHICS, QOL

University of Munich/Grosshadern
Munich, GERMANY
49-89-7095-3960
bruno.meiser@med.uni-muenchen.de
Dylan V. Miller, MD ◆ ★
PATHOLOGY

Intermountain Central Lab
Murray, Utah, USA
807-507-2150
dylan.miller@imail.org
Jignesh K. Patel, MD, PhD ◆ ★
HEART

Cedars Sinai Heart Institute
Los Angeles, CA, USA
310-248-8300
jignesh.patel@cshs.org
Martin Schweiger, MD ★
JUNIOR FACULTY CASE REPORTS

Children's Hospital
Zurich, SWITZERLAND
0043 664 3124611
martinschweig88@hotmail.com
Amparo Sole, MD, PhD ◆ ★
INFECTIOUS DISEASES

University Hospital la Fe Valencia
Valencia, SPAIN
34-61-656-6203
sole_amp@gva.es
Zsolt Szepfalusi ◆ ★
PEDIATRICS

Medical University of Vienna
Vienna, AUSTRIA
431-404-0012
zsolt.szepfalusi@meduniwien.ac.at
Jeffrey J. Teuteberg, MD ◆ ★
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

University of Pittsburgh/Presbyterian
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
412-647-7168
teutebergjj@upmc.edu
Mitesh V. Thakrar, MD ★
JUNIOR FACULTY CASE REPORTS

University of Calgary
Calgary, AB, CANADA
Mitesh.Thakrar@albertahealthservices.ca
Steven SL Tsui, MD, FRCS ◆ ★
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

Papworth Hospital NHS Trust
Papworth Everard
Cambridge, UNITED KINGDOM
44-1480-364-297
steven.tsui@papworth.nhs.uk
Marian Urban, MD ★
JUNIOR FACULTY CASE REPORTS

Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine (IKEM)
Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
maub@ikem.cz
Simon Urschel, MD ◆ ★
PEDIATRICS

University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, CANADA
780-492-3200
simonurschel@med.ualberta.ca
Vincent G. Valentine, MD ★
PUBLIC POLICY, ECONOMICS, ETHICS, QOL

University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX, USA
vgvalent@utmb.edu
Carmine Dario Vizza, MD ◆ ★
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

University of Rome
Rome, ITALY
39-0649979051
dario.vizza@gmail.com
Florian M Wagner, MD ◆ ★
DONOR MANAGEMENT/ORGAN ALLOCATION: LUNG

University Heart Center Hamburg Eppendorf
Hamburg, GERMANY
49-40-74105-8949
fl.wagner@uke.de
Lori J. West, MD, DPhil (Development Committee Chair) ◆ ★
BASIC SCIENCE

University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
780-492-3200
ljwest@ualberta.ca
Christopher H. Wigfield, MD FRCS(C/Th) (Director of Educational Affairs) ◆ ★
LUNG

The University of Chicago Medicine & Biological Sciences
Chicago, Illinois, USA
773-702-3554
cwigfield@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu
Martin R. Zamora, MD ◆ ★
LUNG

Colorado University Health Science Center
Aurora, Colorado, USA
720-848-2259
marty.zamora@ucdenver.edu

Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size