Boards & Committees - Annual Meeting

Annual Meeting Program Committee


ANNUAL MEETING WEBSITE:
www.ishlt.org/meetings/annualMeeting.asp


A) SYMPOSIUM PLANNING COMMITTEE

Committee Composition:

  • The Annual Meeting Symposium Planning Committee shall consist of a Vice-Chair appointed by the President-Elect, subject to approval by the Board, and a Chair who shall rotate into the position after serving as Vice-Chair.  Chair and Vice-Chair terms are one year each.
  • The Immediate Past Scientific Program Committee Chair, the Editor of the Journal, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the President, shall also serve as members of the Program Committee.
  • The Chairs of the Scientific Councils shall nominate up to four individuals to be considered for appointment as members of the Annual Meeting Symposium Planning Committee. Ideally, one nominee from each Council shall be selected by the Chair to serve on the Committee.
  • The Chair shall appoint sufficient additional committee members to reflect the agreed-upon scientific and therapeutic disciplines, with no less than two and no more than four members assigned to each scientific or therapeutic discipline.  Such terms are for one year.
  • Committee members must have served as an abstract reviewer in the past.
  • Council Officers, members of Council Education Workforces, and members of the Education Committee may not serve on the Symposium Planning Committee except for the Chair of the Education Committee.
  • Other than the Past Program Chair, the Program Chair, the Immediate Past Program Chair, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the Editor of the Journal, no member of the Committee may serve more than two years consecutively.  A break of one year minimum is required.
  • The committee members must be approved by the Board in advance.
  • Every effort should be made to include both new and experienced members on the committee and to ensure gender and geographic diversity.
  • If not already an elected Board member, the Chair of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee shall serve as an ex-officio member of the Board and shall also serve as a member of the Education Committee.
Committee Responsibilities:

  • Develop learning objectives for the Annual Meeting that are tied to the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members.
  • Ensure that the Annual Meeting Symposia and other invited content addresses the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members and the established learning objectives.
  • Develop the Annual Meeting  Symposia and other invited content.
  • Evaluate and make changes, as needed, to the format, structure, and content development process of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program.
B) ABSTRACT SELECTION COMMITTEE

Committee Composition:

  • The Annual Meeting Abstract Selection Committee shall consist of the members of the Symposium Planning Committee, plus such additional members appointed by the Chair as are necessary to ensure that there are at least two members assigned to each of the main abstract categories. Such terms are for one year.
  • Council Officers, members of Council Education Taskforces, and members of the Education Committee may not serve on the Abstract Selection Committee., except for the Chair of the Education Committee.
  • Committee members must have served as an abstract reviewer in the past.
  • Other than the Immediate Past Program Chair, the Program Chair, the Program Chair-Elect, the Chair of the Education Committee, and the Editor of the Journal no member of the Committee may serve more than two years consecutively.  A break of one year minimum is required.
  • Every effort should be made to include both new and experienced members on the committee and to ensure gender and geographic diversity.
Committee Responsibilities:

  • Review and select submitted abstracts for presentation at the Annual Meeting.
  • Develop the abstract sessions for presentation at the Annual Meeting.
  • Select finalists and/or recipients for the various ISHLT abstract awards.
  • Ensure that the abstract content of the Annual Meeting addresses the identified practice gaps and educational needs of the members and the established learning objectives.
  • Evaluate and make changes, as needed, to the format, structure, and content development process of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program.
2016 PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
(A) Symposium Planning Committee
(B) Abstract Selection Committee (additional members TBD)



EXECUTIVE TEAM:

2016 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Andrew J. Fisher, FRCP, PhD (A & B)
Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
44-191-233-6161
a.j.fisher@ncl.ac.uk
ISHLT PRESIDENT
Duane Davis, MD, MBA (A & B)
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina, USA
919-681-4760
davis053@mc.duke.edu
2015 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Andreas Zuckermann, MD (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

Medical University of Vienna
Vienna, AUSTRIA
43-1-40400-5643
andreas.zuckermann@meduniwien.ac.at
2017 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Jeffrey J. Teuteberg, MD (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

University of Pittsburgh/Presbyterian
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
412-647-7168
teutebergjj@upmc.edu
COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

David A. Baran, MD (A & B)
HEART

Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
Newark, NJ, USA
973-926-7205
dbaran@barnabashealth.org
Hannah Copeland, MD (A & B)
HEART

Loma Linda University
Loma Linda, CA, USA
816-616-9852
hannahcopeland411@gmail.com
Lara Danziger-Isakov, MD, MPH (A & B)
INFECTIOUS DISEASES

Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
513-636-9101
mailto:Lara.Danziger-Isakov@cchmc.org
Sabina M. De Geest, RN, PhD (A & B)
NURSING ALLIED HEALTH

University of Basel
Basel, SWITZERLAND
41-61-267-0951
sabina.degeest@unibas.ch
Stephan M. Ensminger, MD, DPhil (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE

Heart & Diabetes Center NRW
Ruhr-University Bochum
Bad Oeynhausen, GERMANY
05731 / 97 1331
sensminger@hdz-nrw.de
Andrew E. Gelman, PhD (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE

Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO, USA
314-362-8382
gelmana@wudosis.wustl.edu
Patricia Ging, PharmD (A & B)
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY

Mater Misericordiae University Hospital
Dublin, IRELAND
353-180-3258
pging@mater.ie
Peter M Hopkins, FRACP (A & B)
LUNG

The Prince Charles Hospital
Brisbane, QL, AUSTRALIA
61-7-31394000
Peterwakatipu@hotmail.com
Jonathan N. Johnson, MD (A & B)
PEDIATRICS

Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota, USA
507-266-0676
johnson.jonathan@mayo.edu
Annemarie Kaan, MCN, RN (A & B)
NURSING ALLIED HEALTH

St. Paul's Hospital
Vancouver, BC, CANADA
604-806-8976
akaan@providencehealth.bc.ca
Richard Kirk, FRCP, FRCPCH (A & B)
PEDIATRICS

Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UNITED KINGDOM
44-191-213-7499
richardkirk@nhs.net
Haifa Lyster, MSc (A & B)
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY

Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Trust
Harefield, Middlesex, UNITED KINGDOM
+447850592073
h.lyster@rbht.nhs.uk
Tereza Martinu, MD (A & B)
BASIC SCIENCE

Toronto General Hospital/UHN
Toronto, ON, USA
416-340-3277
tereza.martinu@uhn.ca
Mandeep R. Mehra, MD, MBBS, FACC, FACP (Journal Editor) (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Brigham & Women's Hospital
Boston, MA, USA
617-732-8535
mmehra@partners.org
Dylan V. Miller, MD (A & B)
PATHOLOGY

Intermountain Central Lab
Murray, Utah, USA
807-507-2150
dylan.miller@imail.org
Desley Neil, FRCPath (A & B)
PATHOLOGY

Queen Elizabeth Hospital
Birmingham, UNITED KINGDOM
44-121-3713349
dahn@blueyonder.co.uk
Eulalia Roig, MD (A & B)
HEART

Hospital Sant Pau
Barcelona, SPAIN
34-93-227-5400
eroigm@santpau.cat
Antonio B. Roman, MD, PhD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Hospital General Vall D'Hebron
Barcelona, SPAIN
34-3-274-6157
aroman@vhebron.net
Joanna M. Schaenman, MD, PhD (A & B)
INFECTIOUS DISEASES

UCLA School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA, USA
310-825-7225
jschaenman@mednet.ucla.edu
Jan Schmitto, MD, PhD, MBA (A & B)
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT

Hannover Medical School
Hannover, GERMANY
511-532-3373
Schmitto.Jan@mh-hannover.de
Oksana A. Shlobin, MD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, VA, USA
703-776-2256
oksanan.shlobin@inova.org
Ryan J. Tedford, MD (A & B)
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION

Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD, USA
443-465-5601
Ryan.Tedford@jhmi.edu
Robin Vos, MD, PhD (A & B)
LUNG

University Hospital Gasthuisberg
Leuven, BELGIUM
32-16-34-15-48
robin.vos@uz.kuleuven.be
Gregor Warnecke, MD (A & B)
LUNG

Hannover Medical School
Hannover, GERMANY
49 511 532 6590
warnecke.gregor@mh-hannover.de
Christopher H. Wigfield, MD FRCS(C/Th) (Director of Educational Affairs) (A & B)
LUNG

The University of Chicago Medicine & Biological Sciences
Chicago, Illinois, USA
773-702-3554
cwigfield@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu
Neil W. Wrightson, RN (A & B)
NURSING ALLIED HEALTH

Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UNITED KINGDOM
44-91-284-311
neil.wrightson@nuth.nhs.uk
Tahir Yagdi, MD, PhD (A & B)
HEART

Ege University Hospital
Izmir, TURKEY
90-232-390-4051
tahir.yagdi@gmail.com
Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size