Boards & Committees - Annual Meeting

ANNUAL MEETING PROGRAM COMMITTEE
COMMITTEE LEADERSHIPABOUT THE COMMITTEE
EXECUTIVE TEAMCOMMITTEE CATEGORIES

The Symposia Planning Committee members have been selected to represent the following categories:

 BASIC AND TRANSLATIONAL SCIENCE
 HEART
 INFECTIOUS DISEASES
 LUNG
 MCS
 NURSING ALLIED HEALTH
 PATHOLOGY
 PEDIATRICS
 PHARMACY/PHARMACOLOGY
 PULMONARY HYPERTENSION



QUICK LINKS/INFO

Meeting Webpage

Symposia Planning Meeting:
July 19 and 20, 2014
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
420 Park Avenue South
(Hotel Entrance Is Located On 29th Street)
New York, NY 10016




COMMITTEE COMPOSITION
  • The Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee shall consist of a Vice-Chair appointed by the President-Elect and a Chair who shall rotate into the position after serving as Vice-Chair. Chair and Vice-Chair terms are one year each.
  • The Chair shall appoint sufficient additional committee members to reflect the disciplines of the abstract categories and to ensure, to the extent possible, representation from among the various geographic and specialty constituencies of the Society. Such terms are for one year.
  • The Immediate Past Chair, the Editor of the Journal, the President, and the Chair of the Development Committee shall also serve as members of the Program Committee.
  • If not already an elected Board member, the Chair of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program Committee shall serve as an ex-officio member of the Board of Directors and shall also serve as a member of the Education Committee.


COMMITTEE RESPONSIBILITIES
  1. Develop learning objectives for the Annual Meeting that are tied to the identified educational needs of the members.
  2. Ensure that the Annual Meeting Scientific Program meets the identified educational needs of the members and the established learning objectives.
  3. Develop the Annual Meeting Scientific Program content, including the selection of abstract presentations and the development and selection of symposia.
  4. Make revisions to the scientific program to ensure it continues to meet the educational needs of the members.
  5. Evaluate and make changes, as needed, to the format, structure, and content development process of the Annual Meeting Scientific Program
2015 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Andreas Zuckermann, MD,
Medical University of Vienna
Vienna, AUSTRIA
43-1-40400-5643
andreas.zuckermann@meduniwien.ac.at
ISHLT PRESIDENT
Hermann Reichenspurner, MD, PhD
University Heart Center Hamburg
Hamburg, GERMANY
49-40-74105-2440
hcr@uke.de
2016 SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM CHAIR
Andrew J. Fisher, FRCP, PhD (2016)
Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
44-191-233-6161
a.j.fisher@ncl.ac.uk
COMMITTEE MEMBERS (in alphabetical order by CATEGORY)
BASIC SCIENCE
Carla C Baan, PhD
Erasmus Medical Center
Rotterdam, THE NETHERLANDS
31-10-703-8293
c.c.baan@erasmusmc.nl
Howard J. Eisen, MD, FAHA, FACC, FACP
Drexel University College of Medicine and Hahnemann University Hospital
Philadelphia, PA, USA
215-762-5080
Howard.Eisen@DrexelMed.edu
Stephan M. Ensminger, MD, DPhil
Heart & Diabetes Center NRW
Ruhr-University Bochum
Bad Oeynhausen, GERMANY
05731 / 97 1331
sensminger@hdz-nrw.de
Lori J. West, MD, DPhil (Development Chair)
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
780-492-3200
ljwest@ualberta.ca
HEART
David A. Baran, MD
Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
Newark, NJ, USA
973-926-7205
dbaran@barnabashealth.org
Ivan Knezevic, MD
University Clinical Centre
Ljubljana, SLOVENIA
386-691-676050
ivan.knezevic@kclj.si
Marco Masetti, MD
Bologna, ITALY
+39-339-746-3947
marcomasetti981@libero.it
Jignesh K. Patel, MD, PhD
Cedars Sinai Heart Institute
Los Angeles, CA, USA
310-248-8300
jignesh.patel@cshs.org
Hermann Reichenspurner, MD, PhD (ISHLT President)
University Heart Center Hamburg
Hamburg, GERMANY
49-40-74105-2440
hcr@uke.de
INFECTIOUS DISEASES
Michele Estabrook, MD
St. Louis Children's Hospital
St Louis, MO, USA
314-454-6050
estabrook_m@kids.wustl.edu
Amparo Sole, MD, PhD
University Hospital la Fe Valencia
Valencia, SPAIN
34-61-656-6203
sole_amp@gva.es
LUNG
Jason D. Christie, MD, MS (2014 Program Chair)
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
215-573-3209
jchristi@mail.med.upenn.edu
Peter M Hopkins, FRACP
The Prince Charles Hospital
Brisbane, QL, AUSTRALIA
61-7-31394000
Peterwakatipu@hotmail.com
Cassie C. Kennedy, MD
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN, USA
507-284-2447
kennedy.cassie@mayo.edu
Florian M Wagner, MD
University Heart Center Hamburg Eppendorf
Hamburg, GERMANY
49-40-74105-8949
fl.wagner@uke.de
Christopher H. Wigfield, MD FRCS(C/Th) (Director of Educational Affairs)
The University of Chicago Medicine & Biological Sciences
Chicago, Illinois, USA
773-702-3554
cwigfield@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu
Martin R. Zamora, MD
Colorado University Health Science Center
Aurora, Colorado, USA
720-848-2259
marty.zamora@ucdenver.edu
MECHANICAL CIRCULATORY SUPPORT
Emma J. Birks, MBBS, PhD, BSc, FRCP
University of Louisville
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
502-561-2180
emma.birks@louisville.edu
Claudius Mahr, DO
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI, USA
414-955-6737
claudiusmahr@mcw.edu
Jeffrey J. Teuteberg, MD
University of Pittsburgh/Presbyterian
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
412-647-7168
teutebergjj@upmc.edu
Steven SL Tsui, MD, FRCS
Papworth Hospital NHS Trust
Papworth Everard
Cambridge, UNITED KINGDOM
44-1480-364-297
steven.tsui@papworth.nhs.uk
NURSING ALLIED HEALTH
Kevin Carney, RN, CCTC
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
215-200-0260
Kevin.Carney@uphs.upenn.edu
Annemarie Kaan, MCN, RN
St. Paul's Hospital
Vancouver, BC, CANADA
604-806-8976
akaan@providencehealth.bc.ca
PATHOLOGY
Dylan V. Miller, MD
Intermountain Central Lab
Murray, Utah, USA
807-507-2150
dylan.miller@imail.org
PEDIATRICS
Zsolt Szepfalusi
Medical University of Vienna
Vienna, AUSTRIA
431-404-0012
zsolt.szepfalusi@meduniwien.ac.at
Simon Urschel, MD
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, CANADA
780-492-3200
simonurschel@med.ualberta.ca
PHARMACY / PHARMACOLOGY

Adam B. Cochrane, Pharm.D.
Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, VA, USA
703-776-7398
adam.cochrane@inova.org
Haifa Lyster, MSc
Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Trust
Harefield, Middlesex, UNITED KINGDOM
+447850592073
h.lyster@rbht.nhs.uk
PULMONARY HYPERTENSION
Tuvia Ben Gal, MD
Rabin Medical Center
Petah Tikva, ISRAEL
972-522-757-616
bengaltu@gmail.com
Teresa De Marco, MD, FACC
University of California
San Francisco, CA, USA
415-476-3117
demarco@medicine.ucsf.edu
Andrew J. Fisher, FRCP, PhD (2016 Program Chair)
Freeman Hospital
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
44-191-233-6161
a.j.fisher@ncl.ac.uk
Nicolas Manito, MD
Hospital Bellvitge
Barcelona, SPAIN
34-93-335-7011
nml@bellvitgehospital.cat
Mandeep R. Mehra, MD, MBBS, FACC, FACP (Journal Editor)
Brigham & Women's Hospital
Boston, MA, USA
617-732-8535
mmehra@partners.org
Carmine Dario Vizza, MD
University of Rome
Rome, ITALY
39-0649979051
dario.vizza@gmail.com
Text SizeIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font Size